Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2019 NAIA Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – five finalists have been named for the 2019 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Callum Blinkhorn of Lindsey Wilson, Coastal Georgia’s Mark David Johnson and Eli Scott, Keiser’s Carl Didrik Meen Fosaas, and Dalton State’s Ben Rebne are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced May 30. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.

Blinkhorn was named the Mid-South Conference Men’s Golfer of the Year for his performance this season. He claimed six tournament title this season, including three straight entering the NAIA National Championships. Blinkhorn has not finished outside the top 10 in 11 tournaments.

The Sun Conference Player of the Year, Johnson has three individual wins this season. He was also runner-up twice and only finished outside the top 10 twice in 10 events. Johnson was previously named the Coastal Georgia Men’s Student-Athlete of the Year.

Meen Fosaas was named The Sun Conference Freshman of the Year. He claimed the conference championship as one of two wins this season. Meen Fosaas tallied six additional top five showings and did not place outside the top 14 in 13 events.

Rebne earned Southern States Athletic Conference Player of the Year honors. He won three tournaments, including the SSAC championship. In addition to his victories, Rebne tallied five additional top 10 finishes.

Scott was named All-Sun Conference. He won the prestigious Battle at Primm and Coastal Georgia’s dual versus Saint Joseph’s (ME). Scott was runner-up twice and only placed outside the top 10 twice in 10 tournaments

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For the past 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Barbasol is now proud to offer a comprehensive assortment of premium razors. Barbasol Shaving Cream and Razors are available at retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc. For more information on Barbasol, visit