Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2018 Division II Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips Finalists Announced

FORT WORTH, Texas – Division II finalists for the Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in Division II men’s golf. Williams Award and regional coach of the year recipients will be announced June 6.

The five finalists are Steve Fell of West Florida, Florida Southern’s Doug Gordin, Chris Oetinger of Holy Names, Barry’s Jimmy Stobs, and Newberry’s Howard Vroon. If a team wins the NCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Last season’s Williams Award recipient, Fell was named the Gulf South Conference Co-Coach of the Year. The Argonauts have been ranked No. 1 in eight straight Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Polls. West Florida has won seven times this season, were runner-up three times and finished no worse than third.

This season marks the last of Gordin’s 23-year tenure at Florida Southern. In 2017-18 the Mocs have four victories. Florida Southern also recorded three runner-up finishes and have not placed outside the top five in 11 events. The Mocs rank second in both the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll and the Golfstat rankings.

In only the second academic year of NCAA postseason eligibility for Holy Names, Oetinger led the program to the NCAA Championships. It is the first Holy Names athletic team to reach the final of an NCAA Championship event. The Hawks were runners-up twice this season and posted three third place showings.

A two-time Williams Award recipient, Stobs’ Barry squad tallied two runner-up finishes. Additionally, the Bucs were third three times and fourth twice. Barry only placed outside the top five twice in 11 tournaments.

Also a Williams Award finalist last season, Vroon was named South Athletic Conference Coach of the Year. Newberry won a school-record five tournaments this year. The Wolves also placed second twice, third place, and fifth in 10 events.