Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2016 NAIA Finalists Named for Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

NORMAN, Okla. – NAIA finalists for the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NAIA men’s golf.

The five finalists are Kyle Blaser of Oklahoma City, AJ Broderick of Johnson & Wales (FL), Coastal Georgia’s Mike Cook, Barry Doty of William Woods and Wayland Baptist’s Tom Harp. If a team wins the NCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Oklahoma City posted five first-place finishes, including the Sooner Athletic Conference Championship. Blaser’s squad was also runner-up twice. Oklahoma City’s worst finish in 10 events was seventh.

Broderick led Johnson & Wales to six team titles, including the Sun Conference Championship. The Wildcats also placed third three times. Johnson & Wales only placed outside the top five twice this season. Broderick was previously named Sun Conference Coach of the Year.

Recipient of the last two NAIA Dave Williams Awards, Cook lead Coastal Georgia to five team championships. The Mariners were runner-up twice. Coastal Georgia posted top four finishes in all 10 tournaments this season.

Doty’s William Woods squad won six tournaments this season, including the American Midwest Conference Championship. The Owls also posted three runner-up showings. William Woods placed in the top three in every event. Doty was named American Midwest Conference Coach of the Year.

Wayland Baptist claimed five events in 2015-16. Harp’s team was also runner-up at the Sooner Athletic Conference Championship. Wayland Baptist did not finish outside the top four all year. Harp was previously recognized as Sooner Athletic Conference Coach of the Year.