Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



10 Semifinalists Named for 2024 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank

Written by Drew Harris, The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation

FORT WORTH, Texas (April 17, 2024) – The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) have announced the 10 semifinalists for the 2024 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank, which annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months.

Determined by voting from the award’s selection committee, the 2024 Ben Hogan Award semifinalists are Luke Clanton (Florida State), Wenyi Ding (Arizona State), David Ford (North Carolina), Nick Gabrelcik (North Florida), Ben James (Virginia), Jackson Koivun (Auburn), Christo Lamprecht (Georgia Tech), Gordon Sargent (Vanderbilt), Preston Summerhays (Arizona State) and Michael Thorbjornsen (Stanford).

The list includes three seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and two freshmen. Four conferences are home to semifinalists, led by the ACC with four honorees. The other leagues represented are the Pac-12 (three), SEC (two) and ASUN (one).

Sargent and Thorbjornsen were two of the three Ben Hogan Award finalists last year, while Ford (2023), Gabrelcik (2021, 2023) and Lamprecht (2023) are previous semifinalists. Arizona State is the lone school with multiple semifinalists (Ding, Summerhays).

The three finalists selected from this list of 10 golfers will be named on Tuesday, May 7. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 20, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned as the Charles Schwab Challenge week kicks off.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank has honored the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club since 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which was awarded based on a different list of criteria, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

An esteemed selection committee, comprised of more than 30 leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf, votes during each stage of the process.

Recipients of the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank have combined to accumulate 88 worldwide victories, including 66 PGA TOUR wins, and have amassed more than $420 million in prize money on the PGA TOUR. Additionally, the group has appeared in 17 Ryder Cups and a dozen Presidents Cups.

Past recipients are Ludvig Åberg (‘22, ‘23), Ricky Barnes (‘03), Patrick Cantlay (‘12), Matt Every (‘06), Rickie Fowler (‘08), Doug Ghim (‘18), Bill Haas (‘04), Viktor Hovland (‘19), Chris Kirk (‘07), Hunter Mahan (‘03), Maverick McNealy (‘17), Ryan Moore (‘05), John Pak (‘21), Jon Rahm (‘15, ‘16), Patrick Rodgers (‘14), Kyle Stanley (‘09), Nick Taylor (‘10), Sahith Theegala (‘20), D.J. Trahan (‘02), Peter Uihlein (‘11) and Chris Williams (‘13).

Since 2002, the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation has awarded over $875,000 in scholarships to more than 30 universities. For more information on the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

2024 Semifinalists

Luke Clanton, Florida State, So., Hialeah, Fla.

Wenyi Ding, Arizona State, Fr., Beijing, China

David Ford, North Carolina, Jr., Peachtree Corners, Ga.

Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida, Sr., Trinity, Fla.

Ben James, Virginia, So., Milford, Conn.

Jackson Koivun, Auburn, Fr., Chapel Hill, N.C.

Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech, Sr., George, South Africa

Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt, Jr., Birmingham, Ala.

Preston Summerhays, Arizona State, Jr., Scottsdale, Ariz.

Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford, Sr., Wellesley, Mass.