Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Ben Hogan Award Will Recognize 2020 Winner and Finalists

FORT WORTH, Texas (March 13, 2020) – To ensure that the outstanding accomplishments of collegiate and amateur golfers are rightfully recognized, the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) have announced that three Ben Hogan Award finalists and one winner will be named in 2020.

“We are wholly committed to honoring the tremendous achievements by individuals in the men’s college and amateur golf world,” Ben Hogan Award Chairman Harold Muckleroy said. “Beginning with last year’s NCAA Championships and continuing through the lengthy amateur season and fall and early spring collegiate seasons, our selection committee will have ample data and results available to honor both a worthy winner and deserving finalists for the most prestigious award in college and amateur golf.”

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during its award period. The 2020 award will include all events from the 2019 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships through all completed events during the shortened 2019-20 college golf season.

The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf, as well as past recipients. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Ben Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to accumulate 40 PGA TOUR victories and more than $240 million in prize money. Two winners are currently ranked in the top 10 in the Official World Golf Rankings, No. 2 Jon Rahm (2015-16) and No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012), Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Viktor Hovland (2019), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), D.J. Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

To find the latest information, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter and Instagram.