Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Thursday, February 11, 2010

Watch List Named for 2010 The Ben Hogan Award Presented by Chesapeake Energy
Honor recognizes top amateur player in college golf


NORMAN, Okla. ?

Hogan Award Watch List
(in alphabetical order)

Knut Borsheim, Arizona State
Bud Cauley, Alabama
David Chung, Stanford
Derek Ernst, UNLV
Nils Floren, Texas Tech
Dustin Garza, Wichita State
Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest
John Hahn, Kent State
Hunter Hamrick, Alabama
Russell Henley, Georgia
Matt Hill, NC State
Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State
Sihwan Kim, Stanford
Kelly Kraft, SMU
Scott Langley, Illinois
Seath Lauer, Florida State
Corey Nagy, Charlotte
John Peterson, LSU
Jonathan Randolph, Mississippi
Nick Taylor, Washington
Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State
Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State
Diego Velasquez, Oregon State
Trent Whitekiller, Oklahoma State
Steve Ziegler, Stanford

Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America, has announced the watch list for the 2010 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

Defending NCAA Division I champion Matt Hill of NC State highlights a list that also includes returning PING First-Team All-America selections Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State and Washington?s Nick Taylor along with Walker Cup teammates Bud Cauley of Alabama, Wake Forest?s Brendan Gielow, Hoffmann and Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State. Others on the 25-player watch list include Knut Borsheim of Arizona State, David Chung, Sihwan Kim and Steve Ziegler of Stanford, UNLV?s Derek Ernst, Nils Floren of Texas Tech, Wichita State?s Dustin Garza, John Hahn of Kent State, Alabama?s Hunter Hamrick, Russell Henley of Georgia, SMU?s Kelly Kraft, Scott Langley of Illinois, Florida State?s Seath Lauer, Corey Nagy of Charlotte, LSU?s John Peterson, Jonathan Randolph of Mississippi, Oklahoma State?s Kevin Tway and Trent Whitekiller and Oregon State?s Diego Velasquez.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists named on May 11 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fourth Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 24.

Chesapeake (NYSE: CHK) is the largest independent producer of clean-burning natural gas in the United States and is the most active driller in Texas. The company was recently recognized as the ?Best Managed Energy Company? by Forbes and one of the ?Top 100 Places to Work? by Fortune.

A limited number of corporate tables and individual tickets are available for the Hogan Banquet. For more information, contact Colonial at (817) 840-2219.