The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • News
  • GCAA Names 2005 Hall of Fame Inductees, Honor Award Recipient



Posted Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2005


GCAA Names 2005 Hall of Fame Inductees, Honor Award Recipient

Grost, Miller to be inducted into Hall of Fame; Prisco receives Honor Award

NORMAN, Okla. ?

Inductees for its 2005 Hall of Fame class and Honor Award recipient have been named by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). Gregg Grost - former coach at Lamar and Oklahoma - and retired Furman coach Willie Miller will become the newest members of the Hall of Fame and Providence?s Joe Prisco will receive the Honor Award at the GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet on Wednesday, Jan. 25 at the Hilton Dayton Beach Ocean Walk Village in Daytona Beach, Fla.


Grost began his collegiate coaching career in 1981 at Lamar University. Grost was named Southland Conference Coach of the Year in 1983 and ?85 while leading the Cardinals to league titles in 1982, ?83 and ?85. He was named the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year in his last full season at Lamar. Grost moved to Oklahoma in the spring of 1986. His best year came in 1989 when he led the Sooners to a school-record seven tournament victories - including the NCAA championship - and was named the Dave Williams award recipient for the second time. He would later lead Oklahoma to the 1992 Big Eight Championship and was named conference coach of the year the same season. Grost?s teams earned NCAA berths in 17 of his 20 seasons as a head coach. He coached 19 players who earned All-America honors a total of 33 times and the 2000 Ben Hogan Award winner. Grost currently serves as the executive director of the GCAA.



During his tenure as head coach of Furman?s men?s golf program from 1978-96, Miller led the Paladins to five Southern Conference Championships, four regular-season tournament titles and coached three All-America selections. He was named Southern Conference Coach of the Year on five occasions (1983, ?84, ?85, ?86 and ?93) and District III North Coach of the Year in 1986. Miller?s most celebrated player was 1983 Fred Haskins Award recipient Brad Faxon. He also coached the Furman?s nationally recognized women?s program for four seasons. Miller served as chairman of the NCAA Golf Committee, Southern Conference Golf Committee and NCAA District III North Selection Committee.

Prisco - a 1949 graduate of Providence - has been the only golf coach the College has had since 1953. He led eight Friar teams and 16 individuals to the NCAA Tournament. Prisco has coached 11 All-Americans, six BIG EAST champions, three New England Champions and one ECAC champion. Winner of the Distinctive Service Award from the New England Intercollegiate Golf Association, he led the Friars to 18 Rhode Island championships, three New England titles and two BIG EAST crowns. Prisco has served as chairman of the District I NCAA Selection Committee and as an executive director of the New England Golf association. He also served as a full-time professor in the business department at Providence before retiring from the post in 1989. Prisco was elected into the GCAA Hall of Fame in 1987 and the Providence Hall of Fame in 1989.

The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.