Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2018 Finalists Announced for NAIA Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

MOLINE, Ill. – NAIA finalists for the Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NAIA men’s golf. Williams Award and regional coach of the year recipients will be announced June 6.

The five finalists are Kyle Blaser from Oklahoma City, Texas Wesleyan’s Bobby Cornett, Tom Harp of Wayland Baptist, Keiser’s Brandon Miller, and Dalton State’s Ben Rickett. If a team wins the NAIA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Blaser has led Oklahoma City to six tournament victories this season. The top-ranked team in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll, the Stars were also runners-up three times and placed no worse than third in 10 events. Blaser was previously named Sooner Athletic Conference Coach of the Year.

Texas Weslyan has won six events this season under Cornett’s guidance, including five straight to start the season. The Rams also have two third-place showings and placed sixth in their other tournament. Two Rams were named all-conference.

Harp’s Wayland Baptist squad has posted six top-four finishes this season. The Pioneers have placed outside the top five only once in 10 tournaments. Wayland Baptist senior Andrew Williamson is the top-ranked golfer in the NAIA Golfstat ranking.

Keiser won one team title this season. Miller’s Seahawks were also runners-up five times. Keiser did not place outside the top six in 12 events. Four Seahawks were named all-conference.

Under Rickett’s guidance Dalton State claimed or shared five team titles. The Roadrunners did not finish outside the top four in NAIA competition. Rickett was previously named Southern State Athletic Conference Coach of the Year.