Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2017 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced

NORMAN, Okla. – Six finalists have been named for the 2017 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Adam Blomme of Odessa, Midland’s Stefan Cronje, Fillip Lundell of South Mountain, Tyler JC’s Marco Maldonado, Withayapat Sinsrang of Dodge City, and Alistair Snowdon of Murray State (OK) are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced June 1. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 20-23, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 3 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Blomme has three tournament victories this season, the Andrews College Invitational, High Country Shootout and NJCAA District 2 Championship. Additionally, he has three runner-up showings and only one finish outside the top 11 in 12 events.

Cronje has tallied a pair of victories, the Omega Treating Chemical Invitatioanl and WJCAC Invitational. He was runner-up in four events and has finished in the top five in 11 of 12 tournaments.

Lundell won the Scottsdale Men’s Invitational. He also posted two runner-up finishes and one third. In nine events he has placed outside the top 15 only once.

Maldonado has posted six victories this season, including five straight heading into the NJCAA Division II National Championship. He has three additional top 10 finishes. Maldonado has placed in the top 20 in all 11 events.

Sinsrang has claimed medalist honors four times this season, inluding two straight. He has tallied four additional top four showings. Sinsrang’s worst finish in 10 events was a tie for 11th in his second event of the season.

Snowden tied for first at the Midwest Spring Fling. He has five additional top 10 finishes, including runner-up at the OBU Fall Invitational. He has placed in the top 20 in every event he has competed this season.

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol ® is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For nearly 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. The premium formula is available in 6 varieties. Barbasol is also proud to offer NEW Premium Disposable Razors in multiple blade counts including 6-Blade, 3-Blade and Twin Blade! Barbasol Shaving Cream and Barbasol Premium Disposable Razors are available at retailers nationwide. For more information, visit or follow @BarbasolShave on Twitter and Instagram. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc.