Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2015 Division II Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


FORT WORTH, Texas – Five finalists have been named for the 2015 Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Mateo Gomez of Lynn, Nova Southeastern’s Santiago Gomez and Richard Mansell, Southern Nazarene’s Michael Hearne and Florida Southern’s John VanDerLaan are finalists for the honor that will be presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance at Muirfield Village Golf Club. Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Awards in 1988.

Mateo Gomez made an immediate impact after arriving at Lynn in January. The Cali, Colombia, native won the first tournament he participated in, the Titan Winter Invitational, and logged four top-10 finishes in seven events. Gomez leads Lynn with a 72.24 stroke average.

Santiago Gomez was named Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year. The junior form Armeina, Colombia, has not finished outside the top five in 10 events this season. Gomez has carded two runner-up finishes and placed third three times. He leads Division II with a 70.64 stroke average.

Hearne, the Great American Conference Player of the Year, did not finish lower than fifth in any tournament he played this year. He finished second three times, third four times and fourth once. He boasts a 71.70 stroke average. Hearne has five rounds in the 60s this year.

Mansell was a member of the Sunshine State Conference first team. The sophomore from Staffordshire, England, posted three wins on the season. Mansell finished inside the top five three additional times. He only finished outside the top 10 twice in 11 events.

VanDerLaan, who is a native of Southbury, Conn., earned Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year honors after posting a season scoring average of 72.14 in 10 tournaments. He had two wins on the year and only finished outside the top 20 on three occassions.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol, America’s #1 Men’s Shaving Cream brand was introduced as the first “brushless” tube of shaving cream in 1919. Currently offered in 7 varieties, Original, Soothing Aloe, Pacific Rush, Sensitive Skin, Skin Conditioner, Arctic Chill and Mountain Blast, Barbasol continues to be made in America and is available at major retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio based Perio Inc. For more information about Barbasol, please visit