Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2014 Division III All-Freshmen Team Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 2014 Division III All-Freshmen Team has been named by the GCAA. The six member team is composed of one golfer from each of the six regions in Division III. The All-Freshmen Team includes Matt van Niekerk of Rochester (Northeast), Carnegie Mellon’s George Qian (Mid-Atlantic), Tanner Gross of Guilford (Southeast), Hope’s Winton Munch (Great Lakes), Joey Dreier of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (Central) and Scrheiner’s Matt McClung (West). Members of the All-Freshmen Team are eligible for the Phil Mickelson Award presented by the Phil and Amy Mickelson Foundation as the most outstanding freshman in Division III men’s golf. The Mickelson Award will be presented Friday, May 17 following the final round of the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

Division III All-Freshmen Team

Northeast - Matt van Niekerk, Rochester
Mid-Atlantic - George Qian, Carnegie Mellon
South - Tanner Gross, Guilford
Great Lakes - Winton Munch, Hope
Central - Joey Dreier, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
West - Matt McClung, Schreiner