Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Jamie Howell of Eastern Florida State Recipient of Labron Harris Sr. Award

NORMAN, Okla – Jamie Howell, Head Men’s Golf Coast at Eastern Florida State College and a member of the North Florida PGA section was named winner of the Labron Harris Sr. Award presented by the Golf Coaches Association of America in cooperation with The PGA of America. PGA of America Senior Director, Career Services Scott Kmiec presented the award at the GCAA National Convention. The Harris Award is presented to the college or high school coach and Class A PGA Professional whose support of the game through teaching, coaching and involvement in the community has helped ensure the continued growth of the game of golf and who represents the finest qualities the game has to offer.

“My fellow coaches refer to me as “old school”. I take that as a compliment as I learned the profession from the “old school” and am proud to share that with today’s college players and all I come in contact within the game of golf,” said Howell. “Labron Harris Sr. blazed a trail in the world of collegiate golf few could ever hope to achieve. To be mentioned in the same breath as Labron Harris Sr. is humbling to say the least. I am proud to carry on the tradition he embodied in the PGA and the collegiate golf world.”

Howell is in his 18th season with the Titans. In that time, Howell has totaled 48 tournament wins and 27 All-Americans, with three players winning NJCAA individual national titles.

He was inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame in 2019 and has been named the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year in 2015 and was a finalist for the award in 2016. He has been the District Coach of the Year eight times in his career.

The Titans have reached the NJCAA National Tournament in all 17 of Howell's seasons finishing as high second place, and third place twice. His 2006/2007 team was the Florida Community College Activities Association Male Academic team of the year for the state of Florida. Howell also played professionally in the PGA European Tour from 1988-1990.

Howell follows in the footsteps of past Labron Harris Award recipients Jay Hardwick (Virginia Tech/Middle Atlantic PGA Section), Devon Brouse (Purdue/Indiana PGA Section), the late Rod Myers (Duke/Carolina PGA Section), Herb Page (Kent State/Northern Ohio PGA Section), Jim Brown (Ohio State/Southern Ohio PGA Section), Pat Owen (U.S. Naval Academy/Middle Atlantic PGA Section), Rick Pohle (Williams College/Northeastern New York PGA Section), John Bermel (Northern Iowa/Iowa PGA Section), Pat Goss (Northwestern/Illinois PGA Section), Mike Small (Illinois/Illinois PGA Section), Mike Mayer (Indiana/Indiana PGA Section), Puggy Blackmon (South Carolina/Carolinas PGA Section), Harry Hammond (West Chester/Philadelphia PGA Section), Scott Cartwright (Cal Poly/Southern California PGA Section), and Jerry Haas (Wake Forest/Carolinas PGA Section).