Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2018 NJCAA Division I Dave Williams Coach of the Year Finalists Presented by Golf Pride Grips Named

Lubbock, Texas - NJCAA Division I finalists for the Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NJCAA Division I men’s golf.

The five finalists are Sandy Davis of Eastern Arizona College, Central Alabama’s Dave Jennings, Zach Smith of Eastern Wyoming, Nathan Weant of Indian Hills, and Midland’s Walt Williams. If a team wins the NJCAA National Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Davis has led Eastern Arizona College to two victories this season, at the Estrella Mountain Invite and the NJCAA Region I Championship, and two additional runner-up finishes.

Central Alabama, led by Jennings, have five event victories on the season, most recently at the NJCAA DI Region 22 Championship.

The Smith-led Lancers had a total of seven team event victories on the season, as well as three other runner-up finishes.

Weant has led the Warriors to eight total team wins on the season, most recently at the NJCAA District III Championship. Indian Hills finished the regular season ranked first in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll.

Midland, led by Williams, has a total of eight victories on the season. The most recent victory for the Chaparrals was at the WJCAC Championship.