Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Division III Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – Five finalists have been named for the 2019 Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Reigning Nicklaus Award recipient Josh Gibson of Hope is joined as a finalist by Drew Mathers and Stephen Shephard of Huntingdon, Guilford’s James Mishoe, and Washington & Lee’s Brian Peccie. The winner will be announced May 30. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.

Gibson has posted six victories this season. He has an additional six top-five finishes and has not placed outside the top 10 this season.

The player of the Year in the USA South Conference, Mathers has posted three wins this season - including two straight. He also has two runner-up finishes and has placed outside the top 20 only once in nine events. The USA South Conference individual champion was named Huntingdon’s Male Student-Athlete of the Year.

A First-Team USA South All-Conference selection, Shephard was also recognized at Huntingdon’s Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He has two wins this season and two runner-up showings this season and has not placed outside the top six this spring.

Mishoe was named Old Dominion Athletic Conference Men’s Golf Player of the Year after claiming the league crown. He also has four runner-up finishes and has not placed outside the top six in 10 events this season. Mishoe’s 71.12 stroke average is lowest in school history.

The defending NCAA champion, Peccie has two wins this season and tied for medalist honors at the Old Dominion Athletic Conference championship before falling in a one-hole playoff. A First-Team all-conference selection, Peccie was named the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For the past 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Barbasol is now proud to offer a comprehensive assortment of premium razors. Barbasol Shaving Cream and Razors are available at retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc. For more information on Barbasol, visit