Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



NJCAA Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – Six finalists have been named for the 2019 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Reining Nicklaus Award recipient Callum Bruce of Midland College, Hutchinson’s Charlie Crockett, Leon D’Souza and Branden Meyer of South Mountain, Central Alabama’s Caleb O’Toole, and Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Brice Wilkinson are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced May 30. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.

Bruce has posted five wins this season, including two straight heading into the NJCAA Division I National Championships. He has four additional top-five showings and has only placed outside the top 10 once in 12 events.

Crocket has four individual titles this season, including both the NJCAA District III Championship and the Jayhawk Conference. The freshman has three additional top-five finishes.

D’Souza has five wins during his sophomore campaign. He has also posted two runner-up finishes and has placed in the top six in nine of 11 tournaments.

A sophomore, Meyer tallied three wins thus far this season. He has five additional top-five showings. Meyer has only finished outside the top 20 once in 11 events.

O’Toole has posted three victories. A sophomore, O’Toole placed inside the top five on four additional occasions. He has only one finish outside the top seven in 11 tournaments.

Wilkinson has three wins during his sophomore season. He has 10 finishes inside the top seven. Wilkinson’s highest finish is tied for 11th in 11 events.

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For the past 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Barbasol is now proud to offer a comprehensive assortment of premium razors. Barbasol Shaving Cream and Razors are available at retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc. For more information on Barbasol, visit