Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2016 NJCAA Division II Finalists Named for Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

NORMAN, Okla. – NJCAA Division II finalists for the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NJCAA Division II men’s golf.

The five finalists are Ronnie Key of Meridian, Kirkwood’s Darin Pint, Tommy Snell of Mississippi Gulf Coast, Tyler’s Sandy Terry and South Mountain’s Andy Walker. If a team wins the NJCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Key led Meridian to first-place or tied for first in six tournaments. The team also finished runner-up twice. In 11 events this season, Meridian’s worst finish was fifth.

Kirkwood claimed six team events in 2015-16. Pint’s squad were also runner-up three times. Kirkwood placed in the top three in all 13 tournaments it competed.

Snell’s Mississippi Gulf Coast team won or tied for first in five events. The squad was runner up in its remaining six events. Mississippi Gulf Coast enters the national tournament having won or tied for first in three straight events.

Tyler won five tournaments this season. It was runner-up twice. Terry’s golfers finished inside the top four in all 10 events.

South Mountain spent the entire regular season ranked No. 1 in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll. Walker’s squad won seven events and were runner-up twice. South Mountain’s worst finish was fifth in 10 tournaments.