Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Division II Finalists Named for Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

NORMAN, Okla. – Division II finalists for the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in Division II men’s golf.

The five finalists are TL Brown of Chico State, Lynn’s Andrew Danna, Stephen Ferrera of St. Thomas Aquinas, Saint Leo’s Chris Greenwood and Troy Halterman of Missouri-St. Louis. If a team wins the NCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Under Brown’s guidance, Chico State has claimed six tournament victories this campaign, including the California Collegiate Athletic Association Championship and the West/South Central Super Regional. The Wildcats finished runner-up in their remaining four stroke-play events. Chico State was ranked No. 1 in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll four times during the course of the season and are currently the top-ranked team in the Golfstat ranking. Brown was named CCAA Coach of the Year.

Danna has guided Lynn to one of the top seasons in program history in 2015-16. The Fighting Knights tied a school record with six tournament victories this year while logging the lowest overall team stroke average (73.10) and overall team scoring average (288.11) in school history. Four individual golfers combined for six tournament victories and the team won both the Sunshine State Conference and NCAA South/Southeast Super Regional titles. Danna was previously named Sunshine State Conference Coach of the Year.

Ferrera led St. Thomas Aquinas to five tournament victories this season, including the Atlantic/East Super Regional. The Spartan’s worst finish was fourth at an event hosted by Division I Columbia. The team earned three runner-up finishes and placed third three times. St. Thomas Aquinas set multiple records this season, including 18- and 36-hole team score. Sophomore Michael Miranda posted a record-breaking 60 in the same tournament.

Greenwood has led Saint Leo to two team victories in 2015-16. The Lions have closed the season with three-straight runner-up finishes and finished in the top five 10 times. Saint Leo’s worst finish was sixth place. The Lions spent two rankings at No. 1 in the Bushnell/Golfweek Coaches Poll.

Halterman led the Tritons to their second-straight Great Lakes Valley Conference Championship title this season. Missouri-St. Louis won six times this season and were runner-up on two additional occasions. UMSL placed in the top four in 12 of its 14 events in 2015-16. Halterman was recognized as the GLVC Coach of the Year.