Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – The GCAA in conjunction with Golf Pride Grips today announced the six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips. Golf Pride Grips will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA National Convention on December 9.

Conrad Ray of Stanford (Division I), Lynn’s Andy Walker (Division II), Jim Ott of Illinois Wesleyan (Division III), Texas Wesleyan’s Bobby Cornett (NAIA), Walt Williams of Midland College (NJCAA Division I), and Aaron Puetz of South Mountain (NJCAA Division II) earned coach of the year honors for 2019. Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year were also named.

Ray helped lead Stanford to a six-win 2018-19 season, including taking home the 2019 NCAA Division I National Championship. The Cardinal only finished outside of the top ten one time this campaign. Along with the NCAA Championship, Stanford took home the 2019 Pac-12 Championship and posted a 12-shot victory on the Stanford Regional.

Walker claimed the NCAA Division II National Championship in his first season at Lynn. The national title was one of five victories for the Fighting Knights this season. Lynn was also runner-up three times and did not place outside the top six in 12 events. Lynn was ranked second in the final regular season Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll.

Ott led Illinois Wesleyan to eight wins in 11 tournaments during the 2018-19 campaign. The latest victory coming in the NCAA Division III National Championships, where the Titans took home a three-shot victory. Illinois Wesleyan also added a victory at the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin championships, where five Titans finished in the top six of the individual standings. Illinois Wesleyan’s did not finish outside of the top 10 all season long.

Cornett helped lead the Rams to their first National Championship since 1999 after taking the NAIA title by 11 strokes. Cornett was also named Sooner Athletic Conference Coach of the Year after leading Texas Wesleyan to its first SAC championship. The Rams did not finish outside of the top six in any of their events over the season.

Williams’s Midland College was victories in nine of its 13 tournaments this season. The Chaps finished third in the NJCAA Division I National Championships, while Midland Sophomore Callum Bruce won the individual title and was named a repeat Jack Nicklaus Award recipient. Midland closed out the regular as the top-ranked NJCAA Division I team for seven-straight rankings in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll.

Puetz led South Mountain to the NJCAA Division II National Championship, making it their 12th event over the season where they either won outright or tied for the team crown. The one tournament the Cougars did not win outright contained a field primarily of four-year institutions. Along with the team national championship, South Mountain Sophomore Leon D’Souza captured the individual medalist honors, winning by two strokes.

About Golf Pride Grips:
For 70 years, Golf Pride has been the global leader in golf grip innovation and technology, from the invention of the slip-on grip to groundbreaking advancements in cord with our new Brushed Cotton Technology (BCT®) to the introduction of the ALIGN Technology. Today, Golf Pride® has laid claim to more major wins than any other grip company. More than 80% of Tour professionals choose to play our grips and not one is paid to do so. And in this age of multi-million dollar endorsement deals, that’s the strongest endorsement of all. So, whether you’re a Tour pro playing a major, a rising amateur, or an everyday golfer, you can rest assured knowing you’re playing the #1 Grip in Golf, visit or on Facebook at

Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Presented by Golf Pride Grips

Division I - Conrad Ray, Stanford
Division II - Andy Walker, Lynn
Division III - Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan
NAIA - Bobby Cornett, Texas Wesleyan
NJCAA Division I - Walt Williams, Midland
NJCAA Division II - Aaron Puetz, South Mountain

Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year

Division I
Northeast - Colin Sheehan, Yale
East - Jerry Haas, Wake Forest
Southeast - Scott Schroeder, North Florida
Midwest - Mike Small, Illinois
Central - Jason Enloe, SMU
West - Conrad Ray, Stanford

Division II
East - Matt Arvanitis, Southern New Hampshire
Atlantic - Will Johnson, Charleston (WV)
Southeast - Travis Muncy, Lincoln Memorial
South - Andy Walker, Lynn
Midwest - Gary Bissell, Grand Valley State
Central - Derek Schaub, Lindenwood
South Central - David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian
West - Val Verhunce, Sonoma State

Division III
Northeast - Matthew Greason, Trinity (CT)
Mid-Atlantic - Dan Rodgers, Carnegie Mellon
South - Dave Schreyer, Huntingdon
Great Lakes - Michael Leotta, Wittenberg
Central - Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan
West - Greg Sigler, Southwestern (TX)

North - Cameron Andry, Taylor
South - Mike Cook, Coastal Georgia
Central - Bobby Cornett, Texas Wesleyan
West - Clayton Sikorski, Ottawa (AZ)

NJCAA Division I
District I - Zach Smith, Eastern Wyoming
District II - Walt Williams, Midland College
District III - Chris Young, Hutchinson
District IV - Dave Jennings, Central Alabama

NJCAA Division II
East - Tommy Snell, Mississippi Gulf Coast
Central - Corbin Sebens, Parkland
West - Aaron Puetz, South Mountain