Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Koivun wins 2024 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank

Written by Drew Harris, The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation

FORT WORTH, Texas (May 20, 2024) – The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) have announced that Auburn freshman Jackson Koivun is the recipient of the 2024 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank.
Koivun joins Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State in 2008 as the only freshmen ever to win the Ben Hogan Award. Koivun also is the first Auburn player to win the honor at Colonial Country Club. William Blackmon won the Ben Hogan Trophy in 1994 at Bel-Air Country Club.
He is ranked third in the National Collegiate Golf Ranking System and fourth in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He reached the quarterfinals of the 2023 U.S. Amateur and placed second at the 2024 Jones Cup Invitational. His amateur finishes also include a 20th-place showing at last summer’s Southern Amateur and a 21st-place landing at the Western Amateur.
Koivun owns a 69.25 collegiate scoring average thanks to 17 sub-70 scores in his 36 rounds. He has 10 top-5 finishes in 12 tournaments, including wins at the SEC Championships and the Pinehurst Intercollegiate. His victory at the conference tournament came by six strokes with a 12-under-par total of 198. He was named the SEC Golfer of the Year and SEC Freshman of the Year, becoming the first to earn both distinctions since Justin Thomas in 2012.
The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months. The award’s esteemed selection committee is made up of more than 30 leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. In addition, all past award recipients were eligible to vote in the final round.
The other finalists for the 2024 Ben Hogan Award were Georgia Tech senior Christo Lamprecht and Vanderbilt junior Gordon Sargent. All three finalists attended a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner was crowned.
The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank has honored the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club since 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which was awarded based on a different list of criteria, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.
Recipients of the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank have combined to accumulate 88 worldwide victories, including 66 PGA TOUR wins, and have amassed more than $420 million in prize money on the PGA TOUR. Additionally, the group has appeared in 17 Ryder Cups and 13 Presidents Cups.
Past recipients are Ludvig Åberg (‘22, ‘23), Ricky Barnes (‘03), Patrick Cantlay (‘12), Matt Every (‘06), Rickie Fowler (‘08), Doug Ghim (‘18), Bill Haas (‘04), Viktor Hovland (‘19), Chris Kirk (‘07), Hunter Mahan (‘03), Maverick McNealy (‘17), Ryan Moore (‘05), John Pak (‘21), Jon Rahm (‘15, ‘16), Patrick Rodgers (‘14), Kyle Stanley (‘09), Nick Taylor (‘10), Sahith Theegala (‘20), D.J. Trahan (‘02), Peter Uihlein (‘11) and Chris Williams (‘13).
Since 2002, the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation has awarded over $1 million in scholarships and charitable contributions. For more information on the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter (X), Facebook and Instagram.