Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Finalists Announced for 2023 NCAA Division II Dave Williams Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

NORMAN, Okla. – NCAA Division II finalists for the 2023 Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA, NJCAA Division I, and NJCAA Division II men’s golf.

The five finalists are Gary Bissell of Grand Valley State, Steve Fell of West Florida, David Lynn of Oklahoma Christian, Joey Marino of Nova Southeastern, and Bryson Worley of North Georgia.

Bissell led Grand Valley State to a program-record 10 victories this season, including their first-ever NCAA regional title at the 2023 NCAA Midwest/Central Regional en route to his fourth Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Coach of the Year honor. The Lakers were led on the course by three PING All-Region golfers, including GLIAC Player of the Year and program record-breaker Charles DeLong.   

Fell, the Gulf South Conference (GSC) Coach of the Year, guided West Florida to seven top-two finishes and three wins this season, including their record 19th GSC Championship and sixth NCAA South/Southeast Regional title. The Argonauts were led on the course by First-Team All-GSC and PING All-Region golfers Felipe Garces and Elias Haavisto. 

Lynn led Oklahoma Christian to 11 top-five finishes and three victories, including the UC San Diego Invitational against multiple DI teams, this season before earning his third Lone Star Conference (LSC) Coach of the Year honor. The Eagles were led on the course by three PING All-Region golfers, including the program’s first LSC Player of the Year Exequiel Rodriquez. 

Nova Southeastern finished no worse than sixth in all 11 tournaments under Marino this season before making their first appearance in the NCAA Championship since 2015. The Sharks were led on the course by three PING All-Region golfers, including First-Team All-Sunshine State Conference members Mike Hay and Will O’Neill. 

Worley, the Peach Belt Conference (PBC) Coach of the Year, led North Georgia to top-four finishes in all 13 tournaments, three wins this season, and their second consecutive NCAA Championship appearance. The Nighthawks were led on the course by two PING All-Region golfers, including PBC Player of the Year Evan Thompson. 

All five finalists are coaching this week at the 2023 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf  Championship at Avalon Lakes Golf Course in Warren, Ohio.

About Golf Pride Grips

For over seven decades, Golf Pride® has been the global leader in golf grip innovation and technology, from the invention of the slip-on grip to groundbreaking advancements in cord with their new Brushed Cotton Technology (BCT®) to the introduction of the hybrid category of grips. Today, Golf Pride® has laid claim to more major wins than any other grip company. More than 80% of Tour professionals choose to play their grips and not one is paid to do so. And in this age of multi-million dollar endorsement deals, that’s the strongest endorsement of all. Whether you’re a Tour pro playing a major, a rising amateur, or an everyday golfer, you can rest assured knowing you’re playing the #1 Grip in Golf. To learn more about Golf Pride®, go to