Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Tim Poe Named Recipient of 2022 Labron Harris Sr. Award

NORMAN, Okla. – Tim Poe, Head Men's Golf Coach at Central Missouri and a member of the Midwest PGA Section, was named the 2022 Labron Harris Sr. Award recipient presented by the Golf Coaches Association of America in cooperation with the PGA of America. The Harris Award is presented to the college or high school coach and Class A PGA Professional whose support of the game through teaching, coaching, and involvement in the community has helped ensure the game of golf's continued growth and who represents the finest qualities the game has to offer.

Receiving the Lebron Harris Sr. Award is humbling and an honor to be associated with the man that led PGA professionals the opportunity to expand their careers into coaching,” Poe said. “Mr. Harris is truly the benchmark that all PGA and GCAA members strive to become and I attribute his vision to the PGA allowing coaches to earn Class A (A12) accreditation.” 

Poe is in his 32nd season at the helm, leading the Mules to 28 straight NCAA postseason appearances, including 12 trips to the Division II National Championships. Their national semifinal appearance in 2022 tied for the best finish in program history. Central Missouri and Poe have produced 96 All-Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) players, 36 PING All-Region selections, 23 PING All-Americans, eight MIAA Players of the Year, one All-Nicklaus Team member, and the 2015 NCAA Division II Individual National Champion and Arnold Palmer award recipient, Sam Migdal.

The 2016 GCAA Hall of Fame and 2022 Missouri Sports Hall of Fame member, Poe has received MIAA Coach of the Year honors 14 times and is a 10-time Golf Pride NCAA Division II Regional Coach of the Year recipient. He was the first Division II coach to be named an Arnold Palmer Cup Head Coach when, in 2011 at The Stanwich Club in Greenwich, Conn., he led Team USA to a 13-11 victory over Team Europe. 

A Central Missouri graduate, Poe was a team captain during his junior and senior years and a two-time All-MIAA and All-NCAA District 5 selection. As a senior, he qualified for the NCAA Division II National Championships in Columbus, Ga. Following his collegiate career, Poe turned professional and became the assistant golf pro at Keth Memorial Golf Course (now Mules National Golf Club), home to Central Missouri Golf, before being named to the position of head golf professional and men’s head golf coach in the summer of 1990. 

Heavily involved in the game off the course, Poe has volunteered much of his time to community efforts such as Tom Watson’s Clubs for Kids, the Johnson County Cancer Society annual golf tournament in Warrensburg, Mo., as a rules official for junior tournaments in the Kansas City area, coaching youth sports teams, and helping originate and coordinate the Men’s & Junior City Golf Championship in Warrensburg. He also owns Top Notch Golf Club Repair in Warrensburg and has been a member of eight different NCAA and GCAA committees.

“I am so proud to be a member of the PGA and the GCAA, both of which have contributed to my development as both a coach and a golf professional,” said Poe. “I would like to thank the GCAA and the PGA for creating this award and the selection committee for putting my name next to so many of the greats.”

All-Time Recipients

2022 - Tim Poe (Central Missouri/Midwest PGA Section)

2021 - Scott Flynn (Belmont/Tennessee PGA Section)

2020 - Joe Tesori (Le Moyne College/CNY-PGA Section)

2019 - Jaime Howell (Eastern Florida State/North Florida PGA Section)

2018 - Jerry Haas (Wake Forest/Carolinas PGA Section)

2017 - Scott Cartwright (Cal Poly/Southern California PGA Section)

2016 - Harry Hammond (West Chester/Philadelphia PGA Section)

2015 - Puggy Blackmon (South Carolina/Carolinas PGA Section)

2014 - Mike Mayer (Indiana/Indiana PGA Section)

2013 - Mike Small (Illinois/Illinois PGA Section)

2012 - Pat Goss (Northwestern/Illinois PGA Section)

2011 - John Bermel (Northern Iowa/Iowa PGA Section)

2010 - Rick Pohle (Williams/Northeastern New York PGA Section)

2009 - Pat Owen (Navy/Middle Atlantic PGA Section)

2008 - Jim Brown (Ohio State/Southern Ohio PGA Section)

2007 - Herb Page (Kent State/Northern Ohio PGA Section)

2006 - Rod Myers (Duke/Carolinas PGA Section)

2005 - Devon Brouse (Purdue/Indiana PGA Section)

2004 - Jay Hardwick (Virginia Tech/Middle Atlantic PGA Section)