Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2021 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Recipients Announced

NORMAN, Okla. — The GCAA in conjunction with Golf Pride Grips have announced the six outstanding recipients of the 2021 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award.

Brandt Kieschnick of Sam Houston State (Division I), Luke Calcatera of Arkansas Tech (Division II), Jim Ott of Illinois Wesleyan (Division III), Dalton State’s Ben Rickett (NAIA), Hutchinson’s Chris Young (NJCAA DI), and Parkland’s Corbin Sebens (NJCAA DII) all earned Coach of the Year honors.

Despite being the only coach on this list without a national championship win in 2021, Kieschnick’s Bearkats had a program transforming season. Led by COVID senior, William Holcomb, Sam Houston State did not finish outside the top 5 as a team until the NCAA Championship where they fell one place short of match play. The Bearkats took home two team titles and held a 103-24-1 record against Division I opponents on the season.

At the helm of Arkansas Tech’s NCAA DII National Championship season was Luke Calcatera. After seven NCAA Championship appearances, the Wonder Boys’ alum and four-year letterman was able to provide his alma mater with their first Men’s Golf National Championship. On top of taking the DII crown, Calcatera’s team earned four PING All-American and All-Region honors from the GCAA.

Illinois Wesleyan also took home an NCAA Championship in 2021. Jim Ott’s Titans defended their 2018-19 National Championship with a 13-shot victory for the school’s ninth NCAA Championship. IWU boasted a Nicklaus Award finalist in Rob Wuethrich and had five players named to GCAA PING All-Region and All-American teams.

Dalton State’s Ben Rickett led the Roadrunners to an NAIA National Championship. Aided by four GCAA PING All-Americans, Rickett’s Roadrunners were 37-11-1 against Golfstat’s Top 25 teams throughout the season. Highlighting individual achievements, Ricketts also had a player named finalist for the Jack Nicklaus Award presented by TrueSpec.

Hutchinson simply dominated the NJCAA Division I golf scene in 2020-21. The Blue Dragons took home seven team titles, including a six tournament win streak to close out the year. In addition, Chris Young’s squad included three GCAA PING All-Americans, a Jack Nicklaus Award winner, and a Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award winner.

NJCAA Division II national champs, Parkland had five players recognized as GCAA PING All-Americans. Corbin Sebens’ Cobras staked claims to eight wins in 10 events played. Finishing no worse than sixth, Parkland went undefeated (33-0-0) against the Golfstat Top 25 during the 2020-21 season.


DI: Brandt Kieschnick, Sam Houston State

DII: Luke Calcaterra, Arkansas Tech

DIII: Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan

NAIA: Ben Rickett, Dalton State

NJCAA DI: Chris Young, Hutchinson

NJCAA DII: Corbin Sebens, Parkland



Northeast: Chris Baloga, Loyola (MD)

East: Larry Penley, Clemson

Southeast: Trey Jones, Florida State

Midwest: Mike Small, Illinois

Central: Brandt Kieschnick, Sam Houston State

West: Michael Beard, Pepperdine


East: Stephen Ferrara, St. Thomas Aquinas

Atlantic: Dustin Coleman, Gannon

Southeast: Darcy Donaldson, Georgia Southwestern

South: Steve Fell, West Florida

Midwest: Brent Nicoson, Indianapolis

Central: Luke Calcaterra, Arkansas Tech

West: Val Verhunce, Sonoma State


Northeast: Jaime Jackson, RPI

Mid-Atlantic: Dan Rodgers, Carnegie Mellon

South: Steve Conley, Methodist

Great Lakes: Lauren Grogan, Denison

Central: Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan

West: Sean Etheredge, Trinity (TX)


North: Cameron Andry, Taylor

South: Ben Rickett, Dalton State

Central: Tom Harp, Wayland Baptist

West: Tina Barrett, Ottawa (AZ)


District I: Zach Smith, Eastern Wyoming

District II: Walt Williams, Midland

District III: Chris Young, Hutchinson

District IV: Dave Jennings, Central Alabama


East: Corbin Sebens, Parkland

West: Leo Maes, Glendale

About Golf Pride Grips:

Eaton’s Golf Pride Grips Division is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of golf grips, with manufacturing, sales and distribution facilities on six continents. The division’s Golf Pride brand is recognized globally as the number one choice in grips among TOUR and recreational players, competitive amateur golfers, club manufacturers and club repairmen.