Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Finalists Announced for 2021 Division I Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

Norman, Okla.— The finalists for the 2021 Division I Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA.


The finalists are Michael Beard of Pepperdine, Oklahoma State’s Alan Bratton, Florida State’s Trey Jones, Brandt Kieschnick of Sam Houston State, and Clemson’s Larry Penley.


Beard led the Waves to four wins and top five finishes in all but one event. Pepperdine had a 2-1-0 head-to-head record against No. 1 ranked Oklahoma on the season, including a 4-1 victory over the Sooners at the East Lake Cup.


Bratton’s Cowboys tallied a 282.41 scoring average on the season and were 3.24 strokes under par as a team through regional play. The Pokes took home team hardware five times including a NCAA Regional win on their home turf.

In 29 rounds, Jones’ Seminoles were 4.22 strokes under par and carried a 282.44 stroke average. Florida State holds a 28-12-1 record against Top 25 teams, winning four events and matching Oklahoma State with a home turf regional win in Tallahassee.


The Bearkats, led by Kieschnick, took home the Southland Conference Championship for their second win of the 2020-21 season. His squad boasts an 83-16 record against all Division I competition.


Penley and the Tigers were winners in three of nine events and were winners of the ACC Championship. Holding a -4.25-stroke average, Clemson owns the No. 1 scoring average against par, per Golfstat.



About Golf Pride Grips:
Eaton’s Golf Pride Grips Division is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of golf grips, with manufacturing, sales and distribution facilities on six continents. The division’s Golf Pride brand is recognized globally as the number one choice in grips among TOUR and recreational players, competitive amateur golfers, club manufacturers and club repairmen.