Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Ben Hogan Award Announces 2020 Dinner Date

FORT WORTH, Texas (Feb. 28, 2020) – The Ben Hogan Trophy Award Committee, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) have announced that the 2020 Ben Hogan Award Dinner will take place on Thursday, June 6, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the 12-month period between the award ceremonies.

The dinner has traditionally taken place during tournament week of the PGA TOUR’s Charles Schwab Challenge, but the 2020 NCAA Division I Golf Regionals dates (May 18-20) conflict this year. With the move to the later date, the 2020 NCAA Championships (May 29-June 3) will be a counting event for this year’s award season.

“Being able to include this year’s NCAA Championships further solidifies the Ben Hogan Award’s standing as the most prestigious honor that can be bestowed upon a college golfer,” Harold Muckleroy, Chairman of the Ben Hogan Trophy Award Committee said. “This event has become a staple in the Fort Worth community, and we look forward to welcoming another fantastic group of finalists, their guests and our friends and sponsors to the Ben Hogan Award Dinner this June.”

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list revealed last week, will be announced on Wednesday, April 15. That group will be pared down to three finalists on Wednesday, May 6. The finalists will attend the black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club four weeks later, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf as well as past recipients.

Ben Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to accumulate 40 PGA TOUR victories and more than $240 million in prize money. Two winners are currently ranked in the top 10 in the Official World Golf Rankings, No. 3 Jon Rahm (2015-16) and No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012).

Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Viktor Hovland (2019), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), D.J. Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

Since the committee began inviting all three finalists to Colonial Country Club in 2005, some notable finalists include: Bud Cauley (2010), Wyndham Clark (2017), Russell Henley (2010), Beau Hossler (2016), Michael Kim (2013), Jamie Lovemark (2008), Collin Morikawa (2018, 2019), C.T. Pan (2015), Ollie Schniederjans (2014), Jordan Spieth (2012), Kevin Tway (2011) and Matthew Wolff (2019).

The cocktail hour begins at 6 p.m., while the dinner will start at 7 p.m. To purchase a table or seat, please contact Jimmie Whitt at (817) 972-4280.