Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Finalists Announced for NCAA Division I Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

NORMAN, Okla. — NCAA Division I finalists for the Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NCAA Division I men’s golf.

The five finalists are Michael Beard of Pepperdine, Mark Crabtree of Louisville, Jerry Haas of Wake Forest, Ryan Hybl of Oklahoma, and Greg Sands of Texas Tech.

Beard helped lead the Wave to three team victories over the course of the 2019-20 season, while never finishing outside of the top five in their four other events. Pepperdine was also ranked #1 in the final Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll of the season.

The Cardinals posted three victories in 2019-20 under the direction of Crabtree. Louisville also never finished outside the top-five in their remaining five events of the year.

Haas helped guide the Demon Deacons to one victory over the course of 2019-20. Wake Forest also posted three runner-up finishes and two top-five finishes in their other five events of the season.

Oklahoma won two times in 2019-20 under Hybl’s tutelage. The Sooners also posted three top-five finishes and one top-ten over the course of the year. Oklahoma was also ranked #1 twice in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll.

Texas Tech claimed three team titles under the direction of Sands during 2019-20. The Red Raiders also posted two top-five and one top-ten finish in their other three events of the season.

About Golf Pride Grips:
Eaton’s Golf Pride Grips Division is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of golf grips, with manufacturing, sales and distribution facilities on six continents. The division’s Golf Pride brand is recognized globally as the number one choice in grips among TOUR and recreational players, competitive amateur golfers, club manufacturers and club repairmen.