Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2022 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips Recipients Announced

NORMAN, Okla. – The six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the 2022 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips were announced today by the GCAA. Golf Pride Grips will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA National Convention on December 5.

Ryan Hybl of Oklahoma (Division I), John Maupin of Lee (Division II), Steve Conley of Methodist (Division III), Brandon Miller of Keiser (NAIA), Walt Williams of Midland College (NJCAA Division I), and Chelsea Carroll of South Mountain (NJCAA Division II) earned coach of the year honors for 2022. Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year were also named.

Hybl guided the Sooners to their 11th-straight NCAA Championship appearance and seven wins this season, which tied a single-season school record. Among them, Oklahoma won the Big 12 Conference Championship and the NCAA Norman Regional. PING First-Team All-Americans Logan McAllister and Chris Gotterup, the 2022 Division I Jack Nicklaus Award winner, led the Sooners on the course.

The Flames won four tournaments this season, including the first NCAA Division II National Championship in program history, and Maupin was named Gulf South Conference Coach of the Year. Three of his players earned All-GSC First Team honors in 2021-22, including PING First-Team All-American and GSC Player of the Year Beck Burnette.

Conley led Methodist to their 13th NCAA Division III National Championship this season. The Monarchs won five times and finished in the top five in every tournament they played in. Conley fielded four PING All-American and six PING All-Region members, including Arnold Palmer National Individual Champion Andre Chi.

Miller, the Sun Conference Coach of the Year, led Keiser to nine victories this season, including their first NAIA National Championship. The Seahawks were led on the course by four PING First-Team All-Americans, including Jack Nicklaus Award, Arnold Palmer National Individual Champion, and Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award recipient Jakob Stavang Stubhaug.

Midland won nine tournaments in 2021-22 under Williams, including the Western Junior College Athletic Conference and Region V/District 2 Championships. Four Chaparral golfers earned either PING All-America or All-District honors, including Arnold Palmer National Individual Champion JT Pittman.

In her first season as head coach, Carroll led South Mountain to a win in every Spring 2022 tournament they played in, including the NJCAA Division II National Championship. The Cougars were led by three PING All-Americans, including First-Team member Cecil Belisle, who won the 2022 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus Award and three tournaments en route to winning his second-straight Arnold Palmer National Individual Champion Award.  

About Golf Pride Grips

Since its founding in 1949, Golf Pride has become synonymous with the highest quality performance equipment in golf. Today, from its Global Innovation Center (GIC) in Pinehurst, NC, Golf Pride continues to lead in grip innovation by continuing to obsess over the only connection between our golfers’ hands and the club. That’s why more than 80% of the world’s highest-performing golfers choose Golf Pride. For professionals, top amateurs, and recreational golfers of all skill levels, Golf Pride sets the standard - in performance and style. To learn more about Golf Pride, go to

2022 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Presented by Golf Pride Grips

Division I - Ryan Hybl, Oklahoma

Division II - John Maupin, Lee

Division III - Steve Conley, Methodist

NAIA - Brandon Miller, Keiser

NJCAA Division I - Walt Williams, Midland College

NJCAA Division II - Chelsea Carroll, South Mountain

2022 Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year

Division I

Northeast - Clay White, Seton Hall

East - Andrew DiBitetto, North Carolina

Southeast - Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt

Midwest - Conner Lash, Wright State

Central - Ryan Hybl, Oklahoma

West - Matt Thurmond, Arizona State

Division II

East - Matt Arvanitis, Southern New Hampshire

Atlantic - Will Johnson, Charleston

Southeast - Bryson Worley, North Georgia

South - Jimmy Stobs, Barry

Midwest - Gary Bissell, Grand Valley State

Central - Tim Poe, Central Missouri

South Central - David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian

West - Luke Bennett, Western Washington

Division III

Region 1 - Jeff Page, Babson

Region 2 - Katie Rudolph, NYU

Region 3 - Andy Tompos, Franklin & Marshall

Region 4 - Steve Conley, Methodist

Region 5 - Dan Rodgers, Carnegie Mellon

Region 6 - Justin Wyeth, Aurora

Region 7 - Mitchell Fedorka, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps


North - Stephen Main, Central Methodist

South - Brandon Miller, Keiser

Central - Rob Brown, Bellevue

West - Chris MacDonald, British Columbia

NJCAA Division I

District I - Zach Smith, Eastern Wyoming

District II - Walt Williams, Midland College

District III - Chris Young, Hutchinson

District IV - Dave Jennings, Central Alabama

NJCAA Division II

East - Brad Thornton, Mississippi Gulf Coast

West - Chelsea Carroll, South Mountain