Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



New GCAA Board Named

New GCAA Board Named
Expanded board increases representation for all Divisions 

NORMAN, Okla. ? The Golf Coaches Association of America has named its new board members for 2004-05 through 2005-06.  The new board has increased in size from previous years, with new positions of third-vice president, Division I directors east, west and central, Division II director, Division III director and director at-large.

Tom Drennan from the University of Rhode Island will ascend to the office of president, with Texas' John Fields filling the role of first-vice president.  Mark Crabtree - head coach at the University of Louisville was elected as second vice-president while Mike Ketcham of Arkansas was selected to serve the newly created position of third vice-president.  Former president Joe Feaganes of Marshall will serve as immediate past president.  Rich Johnson of Rochester will continue to serve as treasurer.

The representative at-large positions saw no change with Wake Forest's Jerry Haas, Jerry Hrnciar of Cameron and Nebraska Wesleyan's Brett Balak continuing to serve Division's I, II and III.

The director positions - created for more accurate representation of the membership - consists of Mike Griffin of Auburn and Michigan State's Mark Hankins representing Division I East and Central, Francis Marion's Mark Gaynor from Divison I and Emory's Mike Phillips from Division III.  Trip Kuehne was elected director at-large to become the first non-collegiate coach to serve on the GCAA board.  Division I director-west is currently vacant.