Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Friday, May 22, 2009


Cyr Winner of NAIA Arnold Palmer Award presented by Callaway


SILVIS, Ill. ? For the second straight year Sam Cyr of Point Loma Nazarene has earned the Arnold Palmer Award presented by Callaway as the medalist at the NAIA Championship.


Cyr?s victory at the NAIA Championship was his fifth of the year.  After rounds of 72-72-67 he entered the final round of the championship as the leader and finished with an even-par 71 to take the victory by three strokes over Armando Villareal of Texas Wesleyan.  Cyr was named First Team All-America following Friday?s final round.

Notable past recipients of the award include Phil Mickelson (1992), Justin Leonard (1994), Tiger Woods (1996), Charles Howell (2000) and Ryan Moore (2005).