The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • News
  • Harris Named Jack Nicklaus Award Winner

Harris Named Jack Nicklaus Award Winner

St. John Fisher Senior honored as Division III Player of the Year 


Duluth, Georgia - St. John Fisher's Scott Harris, Jr. was named the recipient of the Jack Nicklaus Award for Division III.  The Nicklaus is presented annually to the national player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II, and III and the NAIA.


Harris had six victories this season, including the Division III NCAA Championship.  His other wins came at the SLU Men?s Invitational, Nazareth Hobart Invitational, ECAC Upstate Championship, Mid-Atlantic Region Championship and the Fred B. Kravetz Invitational.  He also had three other top-ten finishes this season and finished outside the top ten only once.


?I was very surprised to win the Nicklaus Award,? said James.  ?It?s good to be recognized but surprising.  It shows how good I can play and gives me confidence.?


The three other Nicklaus Award recipients will be named immediately following the final round of each respective national championship. All four Nicklaus Award honorees will be invited to Muirfield Village for the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Morgan Stanley at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, just outside Nicklaus? hometown of Columbus to receive their trophies from Mr. Nicklaus. Additionally, a 20-player All-Nicklaus Team - which will include outstanding players from NCAA Divisions I, II and III and the NAIA - will be named June 10.


The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.